Verena Barie, born in Speyer  in 1994, is a recorder player specialising in renaissance consort music as well as contemporary interdisciplinary art.

At the age of 4 she started to attend the youth choir in Kaiserslautern, which was soon followed by recorder lessons with Bernhard Stilz in Saarbrücken, as well as piano lessons in 2003 and cello lessons in 2005. In 2008 Verena moved to the boarding school “Landesschule Pforta” in Saxony-Anhalt, attending the music department. Within her Abitur degree she obtained a choir conducting degree (C1) .

In September 2013  her recorder lessons with Anja-Meike Möller where followed by enrolling for a bachelor degree with Erik Bosgraaf and Jorge Isaac at the Conservatorium van Amsterdam. Verena attended various master classes, among these  Walter van Hauwe, Paul Leenhouts, Michael Schneider, Maurice Steger,  historical improvisation courses as well as electronic composition workshops with Jorrit Tamminga and Wim Henderickx.

Next to several prices within the competition “Jugend musiziert” in Germany, Verena was awarded with the “Gaudeamus muziekweek prijz” for contemporary music within the “Prinses Christina Concours” in the Netherlands, 2014.

Verena is part of “The Royal Wind music”, an unique double sextet recorder consort based in Amsterdam.

Since February 2015 Verena is a founding member of “Queen´s Priest”, a young international ensemble of recorder and sackbut players.

Click here to go to Verena´s website.




Sophia Schambeck was born in Munich, Germany and started to play the recorder when she was six years old. At the age of fifteen she got accepted into the precollege program of the “Hochschule für Musik und Theater München”, and studied with Markus Zahnhausen until 2013. Since September 2014 she has been studying with Erik Bosgraaf at the conservatory of Amsterdam.

Sophia won both as a soloist and ensemble player several national and international competitions (e.g. “Jugend musiziert” in Germany, “International recorder days Nordhorn”, “Open Recorder days Amsterdam”, “WESPE-competition”). In 2015 she received 3rd prize in the Moeck/SRP Solo Recorder Competition in London.ltrio-bw

Since her first recorder lessons, which were group lessons, Sophia enjoys especially to play
chamber music and is a member of various ensembles. With the recorder quartet “Molto vivo”, focusing mainly on contemporary music, she performed at the international festival “Musiquem Lleida” in Spain in 2012. As a member of “Queens Priest” and the ensemble “Consort Lagrime” she explores the music of the Renaissance period.
She attended master classes with Paul
Leenhouts, Dorothee Oberlinger, Maurice Steger and Matthias Weilenmann. Those were supported by scholarships from the “LYRA Foundation”, the “Musikhochsch
ule Detmold” and the “Rotary Club Munich”.



She started with the recorder when she was seven years old in El Escorial (Madrid) with Fernando Paz and Pepa Megina. One year later she started her solfége, harmony and choir lessons.

She had masterclasses with Paul Leenhouts, Andreas Prittwitz, Guillermo Peñalber, Michael Schneider, Pedro Sousa Silva and Guus Jaansen among others.

In 2012 she won the Chamber Music Prize of Open Recorder Days Amsterdam with Marina Cabello on viola da gamba and Inés Moreno on harpsichord.

She started singing in 2010 under the guidance of Lola Bosom, later on she received lessons with Bridget Clark and Carlos Aransay in Madrid.

She was a member or the Youth Choir of Madrid (JORCAM) from 2012-2014 and also sung in the Youth Choir of Andalusia (COJA).

She moved to the Netherlands in 2014 to study recorder in the Conservatorium van Amsterdam with Erik Bosgraaf, María Martínez Ayerza and Hester Groenleer. She joined the Swellinck Koor there and started receiving singing lessons with Geert Berghs.

She joined masterclasses with Rebecca Stewart and Mami Irisawa.

Irene joined the Kurt Thomas Kursus choir during 2015 summer and the masterclass with Daniel Reuss the past October in the Conservatorium van Amsterdam. This year she has joined the program Meesters und Gezellen as a contralto
Irene is part of Queen´s priest -sackbut and
recorder consort- and Lagrime Consort -renaissance recorder quartet-. Past September she was part of the Gaudeamus Music Week with an ensemble of singers led by Lodewijk van der Ree.


Photo credits to Roberta Cristini